Detailed Gluten Free Restaurant Card - Japan

10 ratings
I want this!

Detailed Gluten Free Restaurant Card - Japan

GF Cards by Jodi Ettenberg | Legal Nomads
10 ratings

This is an extremely detailed Japanese gluten free card, written by a celiac, and translated by native Japanese speakers familiar with the condition. I created these cards to help others with celiac disease travel safely.

Show this card to restaurants, hotel staff, chefs, or anyone preparing your food, to help make sure your food requirements are taken seriously.

Upon purchase, you will receive a confirmation email with a green 'download' button. The download button will give you a digital download (PNG image file) that is specifically sized for your smartphone. On your computer, click the download button and download the .png file for your phone. You can also reduce the image size and print to hand out on your travels, or print at 30% or 50% scale—or else they will take up the full page!

You will receive a second email with the English translation for the card.

Your gluten free translation card: 

  • includes a basic explanation of the disease and what we can't eat;
  • uses local ingredient names to best communicate what has hidden (and not hidden!) gluten;
  • expressly mentions cross-contact and contaminated oil or surfaces—something less detailed cards don't do;
  • provides a list of ingredients that can be eaten safely; and
  • adds an apology for the inconvenience to the chef and staff of the restaurant or stall, to explain it's an obligation, not a choice, that we are eating gluten free.

NOTE: If you have any questions about this card, or are having trouble purchasing or downloading it, or accessing your English translation of the card, please send me an email to jodi@legalnomads.com. If you purchase via credit card, your statement charge will read "Gumroad" (the e-commerce platform where I sell these cards).

Looking for restaurant suggestions and a GF food list from Japan? See my gluten free guide to Japan post, here. It's free!

I want this!

Downloadable gluten free translation card as a PNG image file, to help you eat safely as you travel.

✅  Immediate Download
Save this card on your phone, or reduce the size to print to use in an instant.
✅ Detailed Instructions
Local ingredients and lists of what you can/cannot eat help you eat safely.
✅ Cross-contact Included
Unlike less-detailed cards, this card explains that contaminated surfaces or oils are also unsafe.
✅ Polite but Firm
This card apologizes for any inconvenience, but makes clear eating gluten free is not optional for celiacs.
597 KB
1234 x 1969 px


(10 ratings)
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star